Posted by: Renée | February 5, 2009

Beautiful Food

I just love preparing our meals lately – they are so beautiful!  The colors are incredible and the foods feel as vibrant to eat as they do to look at!

As Chris has mentioned in previous posts, he purchased Alissa Cohen’s book & DVD set recently…  I watched the first DVD the other night and was so inspired by how easy all her recipes were to prepare.  As a result of watching her, my new favorite thing is to use a collar green leaf as a wrap!  It has a wonderful crunch and feels so alive – I don’t miss tortilla wraps at all.  Her video gave me a sense of a couple “staple” items that we needed for eating raw – in particular Braggs Amino Acids. I picked up a bottle the next day & also got a bottle of their raw salad dressing too.  The Braggs has a flavor similar to soy sauce and gives a nice salty dimension to certain foods.  For the wrap pictured below, I marinated the mushrooms & sun-dried tomatoes in some Braggs before adding them.

In the photo on the right, you’ll see an excellent fruit salad Chris made – ingredients include cauliflower, clementines, raisins, onion, dates & clementine juice.

Tonight I had another wrap for dinner, but this time spread a layer of  “cheeze” on it, then added red cabbage, tomato, mung bean sprouts and a couple shakes of the Braggs apple cider vinegarette.  I rolled it up and ate it easily with one hand and no plate!  Such a quick, good meal.

Chris made Alissa Cohen’s “American cheeze spread” recipe in the food processor last night, and we were amazed!  I wished so much that we had someone around who didn’t know it was raw to try it, because it really tasted like cheese spread!  Unbelievable!  I’ve been snacking on the cheeze on celery sticks today (photo below) and this is what I spread on my wrap tonight.


Responses

  1. So colorful…so fresh looking! Mmmmmm, again!


Leave a comment

Categories